Poetic Submission: “A Service Dog”

dog1

An anonymous follower sent in this poem about service animals. It was originally submitted to be a part of our Animals & Autistic Lives Series.

[Image is a mint green background with a black and white spotted dog in the center.]

–Elliott

I don’t have pets of my own.

But I dream of one who will guide me.

Lead me through the crowds.

Past the busy people and their laughs and stares and conversations.

Help me through the supermarket.

Past the loud noises and bright colors.

Past the searing lights and the busy aisles.

Lead me to my classroom.

Through the paths, past the sunlight.

Lead me to where I can learn.

Guide me home.

Lead me to where I can live.

Comfort me when I am angry, sad, and frustrated, by this overwhelming world.

Lend me the strength to stand.

Lend me the strength to see.

Lend me the strength to be.

One thought on “Poetic Submission: “A Service Dog”

  1. Pingback: List of Current Links & Resources | The Unpuzzled Project

Leave a Reply

