“The world is too big for me”

kristoffer dog 1

Our contributor Kristoffer shares this poem and two images he created for our Animals & Autistic Lives Series with us. –Elliott

[Above image is a graphite sketch of a large, fluffy dog, possibly a Great Pyrenees, on a whitish piece of paper. The dog is sitting and smiling toward the viewer with a calm, happy expression on its face.]

The world is too big for me.

Everything and everyone who harms me is so big.

And I am so small.

I am so small and afraid.

Please be a kind giant.

I need a kind giant.

I need a quiet, safe place in this world.

Please let my body tremble in fear as I’m cuddled beside you.

Please let my finger touch your teeth.

Your beautiful, terrifying teeth.

I need to know that I can touch danger but be safe in your presence.

Please let me pet your fur for hours.

My presence is tiring to most else.

I give you all of my heart, in a way that gets me hurt by the other big ones.

I’m so small, my gentle giant.

In the ways only you could appreciate.

kristoffer dog 2

[Image above shows a black and white sketch of a large, fluffy dog, possibly a Great Pyrenees. It is comforting a person seated by its feet. The person has their back to the viewer as they are facing the dog, and they are reaching their right hand up to stroke the dog’s face. The dog is looking down at the person with a wise and serene expression on its face.]

One thought on ““The world is too big for me”

  1. Pingback: List of Current Links & Resources | The Unpuzzled Project

Leave a Reply

