Autistic Artistry Series: Amythest Schaber

Our newest featured artist is Amythest Schaber, who had this to share with us:

Hi! My name is Amythest Schaber. I’m also known as neurowonderful (I blog about Autism and disability at neurowonderful.tumblr.com) and as the artist behind tinybrush.ca, which is my shop where I sell hand painted watercolor pendants.

I am twenty-two years old. I was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder in July 2013. I’ve known that I was different my whole life, but I always thought I was just stupid or broken. After stumbling upon the Autistic community on tumblr I realized that I’m not a malfunctioning neurotypical– I’m Autistic! My introduction to tumblr’s group of Autistic bloggers and advocates led to my pursuing and receiving my official diagnosis. I’ve made some good friends and learned a lot in the past year, and I am so grateful for all of the support, encouragement and information the Autistic community provides.

This little character is Autistic Cat. He began developing during the tough time in which I was exploring the possibility that I might be Autistic. To me Autistic cat represents the positive, joyful side of being Autistic. He has his special interests and his favourite stims, and he is happy to be himself.

autisticcat

One thought on “Autistic Artistry Series: Amythest Schaber

  1. Pingback: List of Current Links & Resources | The Unpuzzled Project

Leave a Reply

