Autistic Artistry Series: Flame

The Unpuzzled Project is proud to introduce you to our second Autistic artist of our Creativity Series: Flame!

Flame is a girl who’s talented at both writing and the visual arts. She is a student who has Asperger’s Syndrome as well as anxiety issues. As Flame says: “I feel that my art is a way to cope with everything I see and feel, and I work it into my pieces and eventually make it a part of myself. I generally work mostly with concepts and mood, trying to create stories though both my art and writing.” Flame also sees this as part of the meaning of her work. “…all the bad things, sadness and pain, can be used to make powerful art, which makes it a bit easier to live with.”

Flame often creates art that is fantasy-related, and the piece she has chosen to share with us is no exception.

The title of this picture is Who repairs what is broken. It’s a piece of art I made for my NaNoWriMo novel this year, before I started writing. While I worked on it, I thought about characters and plot, working more and more up around it, and it eventually ended up as a finished piece of art. I’m not going to reveal too much about the piece, but the girl’s name is Melanie, and the small figure is the main person of my novel, a young man named Hugin.”

She who repairs what is broken, when time is for that

Thank you, Flame, for sharing your work with us!

3 thoughts on “Autistic Artistry Series: Flame

  1. Pingback: List of Current Links & Resources | The Unpuzzled Project

Leave a Reply

